Panoramio is closing. Learn how to back up your data.

St. Mary's Cathedral 2/2010

The Roman Catholic Metropolitan Archdiocese of Dhaka (Latin: Archidioecesis Dhakensis) is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in Bangladesh. It was erected it as the Apostolic Vicariate of Eastern Bengal by Pope Pius IX in 1850, promoted to the rank of a diocese on September 1, 1886, and renamed as the Diocese of Dacca in 1887. It was elevated to the rank of a metropolitan archdiocese by Pope Pius XII on July 15, 1950, with the suffragan sees of Chittagong, Dinajpur, Khulna, Mymensingh, and Rajshahi. Pope John Paul II renamed it as the Archdiocese of Dhaka on October 19, 1982. The archdiocese's motherchurch and thus seat of its archbishop is St. Mary's Cathedral. As the only metropolitan in Bangladesh, it is also the primatial see of that country. The current Archbishop of Dhaka is His Excellency Paulinus Costa, having been appointed by Pope Benedict XVI on July 9, 2005. Ref: Wiki

Show more
Show less

Photo details

  • Uploaded on February 8, 2010
  • © All Rights Reserved
    by F. Zaman
    • Camera: Canon IXY DIGITAL 810 IS
    • Taken on 2010/02/05 12:22:10
    • Exposure: 0.006s (1/160)
    • Focal Length: 5.80mm
    • F/Stop: f/8.000
    • ISO Speed: ISO80
    • Exposure Bias: 0.00 EV
    • No flash