Panoramio is closing. Learn how to back up your data.

Historic Irredel County Courthouse & Confederate Monument - Statesville, NC

Placed on the National Register of Historic Places on May 10, 1979.

This courthouse was built by the Wheeler Runge architectural group in Charlotte, NC. They built numerous other county courthouses in the State of North Carolina. In 8 other counties, they essentially replicated the design. Besides this courthouse, they include Ashe County, Avery County, Wilkes County, Alleghany County, Randolph County, Scotland County (no longer standing), Stokes County & Watauga County (no longer standing). Compared to his one-of-a-kind designs, they were relatively small, as the counties they served were smaller in population at the time they were built. Only 2 continue their original function as a courthouse. One is currently home to a county school district & the rest have either been dismantled or function as museums. Wheeler & Runge did have a few one-of-a-kind designs, like Duplin County, Caldwell County Courthosue (no longer standing), Halifax County and Anson County.

Show more
Show less

Photo details

  • Uploaded on December 27, 2011
  • Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike
    by Michael Miller
    • Taken on 2011/12/26 08:09:42
    • Exposure: 0.013s (1/80)
    • Focal Length: 10.50mm
    • F/Stop: f/3.200
    • ISO Speed: ISO80
    • Exposure Bias: 0.00 EV
    • No flash