Reök Palace or Reök House was designed by Ede Magyar (1877-1912) as a residential building, and was built in 1907. One of the most stunning examples of Hungarian Art Nouveau, influenced rather by the contemporary Belgian and French state of art, than the leading Hungarian architect of the age, Ödön Lechner. The building has become very decayed after the 1960s - a full refurbishment was completed on its 100th anniversary - and it was opened in 2007 as a cultural centre.
Builder & first owner was Iván Reök (1855-1929) (that's where the house's name comes from), a hydrologist, a civil engineer, a wealthy land-owner and MP of the Szeged-Tápé district, a nephew of the highly renowned Hungarian artist, Mihály Munkácsy. Not identical with his son, also Iván (1894-1967), also an MP (unlike his father who was a liberal, of the Smallholders Party), though in a different age (1945-49) - later a well-known surgeon of a Budapest hospital.