The Boathouse at Newmillderdam. This fascinating building is situated on the lake at Newmillerdam. Little is known about the history of the Boathouse except that it was built by William Pilkington, first appearing on a 1826 map.
Photographs from the early 1900's show the Pilkington family entertaining their guests; the gentlemen would shoot the wildfowl on the lake, with the ladies joining them at the Boathouse for a picnic lunch sent down from the Hall.
In July 1907 the Wakefield Express reported on Miss Mary Pilkington's 80th birthday celebrations. To commemorate the event 13 guests attended a special birthday tea at her home, Rock Cottage, in the village. The following day she invited members of the Blind Institution for tea in the Boathouse when due to the beautiful weather boating was very much enjoyed.
When the local authority took ownership of the park the Boathouse was used for storage. The deteriorating condition of this Grade II listed building had long been the concern of Wakefield people. With the support of the National Lottery and the European Community European Regional Development Fund Wakefield Council has restored the building to a visitor facility and meeting room