This house is in the National Register of Historic Places.
This location is in the National This location is in the National Registry of Historic Places.
Erected in 1856 for businessman John Henry Hutchings and his new wife Minnie (Knox), this structure was designed to resemble an Italian villa. It was damaged in an 1885 storm, and noted architect Nicholas Clayton did the extensive repair and renovation work. By his design the house became a blend of the Romanesque and Renaissance revival styles. He replaced the south gallery with a single-story porch and the west porch with a two-story gabled portico. With the addition of a third floor and stucco applied to the house's brick walls, the building took on its historic appearance.