Panoramio is closing. Learn how to back up your data.


The hexagram, like the pentagram, was and is used in practices of the occult and is attributed to the 7 "old" planets outlined in astrology.The six-pointed star is commonly used both as a talisman and for conjuring spirits in the practice of witchcraft. In the Book The History and Practice of Magic, Vol. 2, the six-pointed star is called the talisman of Saturn and it is also referred to as the Seal of Solomon. Details are given in this book on how to make these symbols and the materials to use. Traditionally, the Hexagram can be seen as the combination of the four elements. The triangle with the point upwards symbolizes Fire, and with a horizontal line across its center symbolizes Air. The triangle with the point downwards symbolizes Water, and with a horizontal line across its center symbolizes Earth. The two combined create the Hexagram, and hence a combination of the elements.

Show more
Show less

Photo details

  • Uploaded on July 4, 2012
  • Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works
    by Emil.S
    • Taken on 2012/07/03 10:33:50
    • Exposure: 0.025s (1/40)
    • Focal Length: 7.30mm
    • F/Stop: f/2.800
    • ISO Speed: ISO400
    • Exposure Bias: -1.00 EV
    • No flash