Cecil Community Center. Originally The Church of Christ. The building was completed in March 1891. The city’s Jewish population grew from 3,000 to 35,000 between 1901-1921. With renovations by architect Benjamin Swartz the Ostrovtzer Synagogue opened in 1922, as “The Old and New Testaments were reversed in this place of worship.”
For the next 30 years, the Ostrovtzer shul, and other congregations were part of a vibrant Jewish culture, that thrived along Spadina and in Kensington Market. The garment industry prospered and kosher diners lined the wide avenue.
The Ostrovtzer (Ostrowietz, Poland) congregation dwindled and left Cecil Street in the 1950s, north on Bathurst Street, as did the rest of Jewish community. There is really nothing left from that era.
In a strange coincidence as Chinese people moved to Spadina neigbourhood, the fashion industry slowly relocated to China!!!
Sign in to comment.