Pangarati Monastery is first mentioned at the beginning of the XV century in the year 1460 when the monk Simeon, which was one of the advisers of ruler Stefan cel Mare, built here the first wooden church. In the year 1476 the church was burned to the ground by the Turkish and the monks ran into the woods where they stayed up until the war was over. In the year 1560, ruler Alexandru Lapusneanu transforms the small hermitage from Pangarati in a monastery and builds the first stone church which is known for its unique architecture. Although in the beginning Pangarati Monastery had a small piece of estate in less than a century it became one of the biggest land owners Bistrita valley. The name of “Pangarati” comes from a monk named Pangratie, thinks the historian Nicolae Iorga. The first time when Pangarati monastery is mentioned under this name is in July 9, 1577.