on Google Maps

briarfallen's conversations

The island in the foreground is Tatay Island with Tinutuan Island behind it. The island big island in the upper left of the picture in Quiniluban Island. Thanks for sharing this picture.

Beautiful view from the air. I was just there on July 5th 2014.

It's actually the three peaks of Banahaw Mountain complex. From left to right - Mt. Banahaw de Lucban, Mount Banahaw and Mount San Cristobal. In front of Mount San Cristobal are Mt. Atimbia (L) and Mt. Nagcarlan (aka Mt Kalisungan, R). The tallest peak to the right of Mt. Nagcarlan is Mt. Lagula. Thanks for sharing this beautiful picture.

Agree. Agno, the river, is different from Agno, the town. They have the same name but they are unrelated. Anyway, whatever its name, the river is beautiful!

Translation: Founded by the Jesuits, 1753. The management was transferred to the Augustinian Recollects, 1768. The first church burned down except the front, 1850s. Along with the front of the former building, it was rebuilt according to the design by Domingo Escondrillas, 1855-1864. Used by the U.S. forces as a garrison in their campaign against the Filipino guerrillas, 1901. Ray Francia, a Cebuano painter, conducted the painting of masterpiece (ceiling) inside the church, 1938. The main patroness is Our Lady of the Light or Virgin of Kasilak (Visayan for Light) and the second patron is  Saint Joseph, the Worker. Declared as a National Historic Landmark, 2010.

Sad, isn't it? My husband's family is from Bohol. It's tragic what's happened there - to the kind and happy Boholanos, and to their cultural heritage.

I might have more photos. I'll upload them when I find them. I know .... Photos are all that we have left to enjoy of this once magnificent structure 😞

Translation: > In it every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened (From Matthew 7:8).

This picture is misplaced. The church above is the Parish Church of Corella, Bohol province. Thanks for uploading the Philippine pictures.

yap it is camiguin province part of northern mindanao under region X. Camiguin has five towns namely: mambajao as capital town, mahinog, guinsiliban, sagay and catarman it has 90 thousand population more or less, guinsiliban is the smallest town.

« Previous123Next »


  • loading Loading…


briarfallen's groups